Steering Committee

Elize van Eeden is an NRF-rated professor of History and specializes in regional history in multidisciplinary contexts.  She is Deputy Director of the School of Social Sciences at the Vanderbijlpark campus, North-West University, South Africa.


ORCID Number:


Alfred Tembo is lecturer in African History in the Department of Historical and Archaeological Studies at the University of Zambia. He is also the current Head of the same Department. Dr Tembo is also a Research Fellow with the International Studies Group at the University of the Free State. 


ORCID Number:


Gerald Groenewald is an associate professor in and former head of the Department of History at the University of Johannesburg. He currently serves on the editorial boards of several scholarly journals.


ORCID Number:


Shokahle R. Dlamini is a senior lecturer and Head of Department at the University of Eswatini (UNESWA), Department of History. She is also a senior research associate of the University of Johannesburg.


ORCID Number:


James Hlongwana is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of History at Great Zimbabwe University. 


ORCID Number:


Claudia Gouws (née De Villiers) completed her MA in 2008 (cum laude) and her PhD in 2013, both in History at North-West University (NWU) in South Africa. She is a lecturer in History at North-West University since 2013.


ORCID Number:


Tshepo Moloi is a senior lecturer in the Department of History at the University of Johannesburg.


ORCID Number: https://orcid.org/0000-0002-7004-3992

Emile C. Coetzee is a lecturer in History at the North-West University’s Mahikeng Campus. He completed his MA degree (at NWU Vaal) about the alleged corruption committed in the South African Defence Force and Department of Defence from 1957 to 1964. He is enrolled at the same NWU campus for his PhD in History.

ORCID Number: https://orcid.org/0000-0001-8507-9384

Yolandi Strydom

Administrative Coordinator for the RHSSA